Indian Catholic News

Archdiocese of Changanacherry

Archbishop Joseph Perumthottam

Image of Bishop Joseph Perumthottam
  • Date of Birth : 1948-07-05
  • Mob : (+91)481 2420 040/2420379/
  • Email :
  • Archdiocese image of Changanacherry


Changanassery gets new auxiliary bishop
India (Kerala): The bishop-elect had been serving as director of the Danahalaya Institute of Formation at Punnapra, Alappuzha.
January 16, 2017, 6:40 PM
20-volume moral theology work published
India (Kerala): The work is hailed as an encyclopedia in the field of Christian ethics and morality.
February 20, 2013, 6:38 AM
St George Forane Church festival
India (Kerala): The festival would be attended by devotees from South Indian states and Sri Lanka.
April 30, 2012, 7:38 AM

Short History of Changanacherry Diocese

Group: : Syro-Malabar
Phone : +91 481-2420040, 2420379, 2420614
Address : Archbishop's House,
Changanacherry 686101,
Kerala, India
Website :

The Archdiocese of Changanacherry is the largest Catholic diocese in Kerala state.


Malayalam is the main language spoken. But sizeable numbers of people speak English and Tamil.


The Vicariate of Kottayam was renamed Changanacherry and its headquarters moved to Changanassery in 1891. With Pope Pius XI's establishment of the Syro-Malabar Hierarchy on Dec. 21, 1923, through the papal bull Romani Pontifices, the dioceses of Thrissur, Changanassery and Kottayam became suffragans of the Archdiocese of Ernakulam, thereby constituting the first Syro-Malabar ecclesiastical province. On July 25, 1950, Palai diocese was created from the territory of Changanassery.

In 1955, the Vatican extended the boundaries of  Changanacherry diocese to areas south of the river Pamba up to and including Kanniyakumari. The following year, on July 26, 1956, Pope Pius XII created the second province in the Syro-Malabar Church by raising Changanacherry to an archdiocese with Kottayam and Palai as its suffragans.

The archdiocese was divided on Feb. 26, 1977, to create the Diocese of Kanjirappilly, and again on Dec. 18, 1996, when the Kanniyakumari mission was elevated to become the Diocese of Thuckalay.


Humid with temperatures reaching 34 degrees Celsius in summer.


Spread over 8,450 square kilometers, the archdiocese covers the districts of Kottayam, Alappuzha, Pathanamthitta, Kollam and Thiruvananthapuram.


Name Type
Technical Schools 4
Schools 328
Colleges 7
Ecclesiastical Institutions 33
Religious Brothers 5
Religious Sisters 3,387
Total Priests 918
Religious Priests 538
Diocesan Priests 380
Parishes 284
Catholic Population 3,82,068
Professional Colleges 3
Orphanages 21
Hostels 40
Hospitals 22
Publications 16

Search Diocese