Indian Catholic News

Diocese of Puttur

Bishop Vacant

Image of Bishop Vacant
  • Date of Birth : 0000-00-00
  • Mob :
  • Email :
  • Diocese image of Puttur

Short History of Puttur Diocese

Group: : Syro-Malankara
Phone : +91 8251 238538
Address : Bishop's House
Shanthi Bhavan
Catholic Bishop's House
Parladka, Puttur P. O. 574201
Karnataka, India

The Diocese of Puttur consists of nine civil districts of Karnataka State with a vast geographical area of 51,950 square kilometers. The civil districts are South Kanara (Dakshina Kannada), Chamarajnagar, Chickmagalur, Hassan, Kodagu, Mandya, Mysore, Shimoga and Udupi. It has two ecclesiastical districts of South Kanara (Dakshina Kannada) and Shimoga.

On the recommendation of Most Rev. Geevarghese Mar Divannasios, the then Bishop of Bathery, taking into consideration of the geographical, cultural and linguistic identity of the northern region of the Eparchy of Bathery, the Holy Episcopal Synod of the Syro-Malankara Catholic Church, decided to erect a new eparchy in the region. Most Rev. Geevarghese Mar Divannasios transferred from the See of Bathery and appointed as the first Bishop of the Diocese of Puttur. The Diocese was erected on Jan. 25, 2010 and was inaugurated on April 15, 2010. This is the first and only Syro-Malankara Eparchy in Karnataka state.

The total population of Puttur diocese is 14,310,166. (Population of whole Karnataka state according to the Census of 2011 is 61,130,704. Out of that, just 2,700 are Malankara Catholics which makes around 0.018%). As many as 800 families come under the 24 parishes of this diocese, most of whom were migrants from Kerala. The migration of people from Kerala to the southern parts of Karnataka began in 1950’s. Kannada, which is the official state language of Karnataka, is the main language across the geographical diocese spoken by the majority. Malayalam is the liturgical language of the Diocese. With that there are people who speak Tamil, Telugu, Tulu, Konkanni, Kodava, Beary basha and English. In spite of the distance, 24 parishes and mission centers were established together with a few educational institutions to impart a value-based education to the children and youth irrespective of their social, religious and cultural differences.


Name Type

Search Diocese