Archdiocese of Cuttack - Bhubaneswar

Archbishop John Barwa

Image of Bishop John Barwa
  • Date of Birth : 1955-06-01
  • Mob : +91 9777835255
  • Email :


Thousands march remembering Odisha violence
India (Orissa): Five years after the violence the victims have been suffering from various socio-economic constrains and difficulties.
September 2, 2013, 4:17 PM
Two Christian families persecuted in Orissa
India (Orissa): The families escaped their villages and found shelter in Christian houses in nearby villages.
May 15, 2013, 6:01 PM
Church joins state in flood relief efforts
India (Orissa): Christian agencies join other services to support flood victims
September 28, 2011, 12:18 AM

Short History of Cuttack - Bhubaneswar Diocese

Group: : Latin-rite
Phone : +91 674 2575225, 2570686/25750811
Address : Archbishop's House,
9/16 Satyanagar,
Bhubaneswar 751 007 ,
Orissa, India
Website :


The archdiocese of Cuttack–Bhubaneswar comprises nine civil districts of Boudh, Cuttack, Kandhamal, Kendrapara, Khurda, Jagatsingpur, Jajpur, Nayagarh and Puri in the State of Orissa, eastern India.

The diocese of Cuttack was part of the diocese of Visakhapatnam (Andhra Pradesh) since 1845, when missionaries of St. Francis de Sales, (MSFS) established parishes and took care of the pastoral needs of the region. During the First World War most French Missionaries went back to France. On 10 January 1922 a group of four Spanish Vincentian priests (Congregation of Mission or CM) came to Orissa and they replaced the French MSFS missionaries.

On 18 July 1928 Pope Pius XI declared the Mission of Cuttack “Missio Sui Juris.” Fr. Valerian Guemes, CM was appointed its administrator and later as the Ecclesiastical Superior. In 1937, Cuttack Mission was elevated to a diocese and made a suffragan of Ranchi archdiocese and Rev. Msgr. Florencio Sanz Esperanza, CM, was appointed first bishop of Cuttack diocese in 1938.

In 1948 he retired and Rt. Rev. Msgr. Paul Tobar Gonzalves, CM became his successor. On 18 April 1971 Bishop Tobar died and Fr. Vincent Urbaneja, CM was elected administrator of the Diocese.

On 24 January 1974 Cuttack Mission was divided into the Metropolitan See of Cuttack-Bhubaneswar and the diocese of Berhampur. Most Rev. Msgr. Henry D’Souza was appointed the first archbishop of Cuttack-Bhubaneswar. He was ordained on 5 May 1974 in Calcutta. In the same year the bishop’s residence was moved from Cuttack to Bhubaneswar, the state capital.

In April, 1984 Archbishop D’Souza was called back to the archdiocese of Calcutta. On 11 of August, 1985, Bishop Raphael Cheenath, SVD of the Diocese of Sambalpur succeeded him as the Archbishop of Cuttack-Bhubaneswar.

Archbishop Raphael Cheenath, SVD retired and bishop John Barwa was announced as Archbishop of Cuttack-Bhubaneswar on February 11, 2011. Archbishop Barwa was installed Archbishop of Cuttack-Bhubaneswar on April 2, 2011 at our Lady of Most Holy Rosary Cathedral, Cuttack.


Name Type
Hostels 25
Hospitals 3
Technical Schools 13
Schools 46
Religious Sisters 194
Religious Brothers 25
Total Priests 104
Religious Priests 33
Parishes 311
Diocesan Priests 71
Catholic Population 61,378
Orphanages 3

Search Diocese